Beaches and sunsets

On our walk from Marino south toward Hallett's Cove, we watched flocks of birds flying north, like those in this photo
On our walk from Marino south toward Hallett's Cove, we watched flocks of birds flying north, like those in this photo

On a hot Australian day, the beach beckons. During one wicked spell of intense heat in Adelaide, the twins, Jeannette and I headed down to the beach at dusk. Although a sea breeze is part of nearly every day here, the air was still.

The beach along the Adelaide suburb of Glenelg, one of our favourite city neighbourhoods
The beach along the Adelaide suburb of Glenelg, one of our favourite city neighbourhoods

Central air conditioning is not standard here (nor is central heating), except in newly constructed homes. So the hot houses of nearby neighbourhoods had emptied out onto the beach. Jeannette and David figured there’d be many sleeping on the beach on such a hot night.

We took off our shoes and cooled our feet in the sea. Our toes sank into Adelaide’s perfect sand. The heat of the day fell away. We were content.

We’ve come to love the beaches of Australia. Robin had been telling me that our Kelowna beach sand couldn’t begin to compare with the white sands of Australia. He was right.

Sellicks Beach is one of the few places in the world where it's possible to drive along the beach
Sellicks Beach is one of the few places in the world where it's possible to drive along the beach

The other thing that comes with beaches facing west is sunsets. Glorious sunsets, with the sun casting a gold glow over everything and then being suddenly swallowed by the sea.

I can’t share all of the beach and sunset photos I’ve taken, but I can’t resist sharing some of my favourites.

glenelg_sunset
When the sun sank below the horizon, the sky beyond Glenelg Beach blazed
Waves crash on the rocks of Green Bay, between Port Elliot and Victor Harbor
Waves crash on the rocks of Green Bay, between Port Elliot and Victor Harbor
White-sand beaches south of Adelaide, seen from the Sport Star Robin's friend Evan John was flying
White-sand beaches south of Adelaide, seen from the Sport Star Robin's friend Evan John was flying
Sunset at Port Elliot
Sunset at Port Elliot
4 thoughts on “Beaches and sunsets

  1. Jenni Woodroffe

    Dear Cathryn,
    As my emails to you still continue to bounce, I thought I’d just drop you a line to wish you Bon Voyage as you and Robin say farewell to the shores my country. Your blog has been a great way to stay in touch.
    Bec, Andrew and the three grandchildren enjoyed our fish and chips at Cicerello’s on Sunday night – the sunset was glorious and the children so enjoyed playing on the beach.
    Much love – it was such a joy to have you visit me in WA
    Jenni

  2. Hali

    Dearest Cathryn,
    Thanks for the wonderful sunsets for I had forgotten them since my return in January. I remember every time we pulled out of port on the cruise ship it was always in the evening, so I had the pleasure of enjoying those sunsets from my balcony. They seemed to stretch across the sea for miles and miles. I agree with you 100% that the sunsets in Australia are remarkable. I can hardly wait to go back to enjoy many more.
    Love always,
    Hali
    xoxoxo

  3. Jenni Woodroffe

    As I don’t seem able to send you emails at your email address, thought I would stop for a few minutes to send a few words this way. I guess it won’t be long before you arrive home – I have a few photos which as I can’t send them electronically will forward by airmail, not snail mail!
    Bec and family have now arrived back in the UK – a long, long flight especially as they travelled from Melbourne, rather than Perth. Have seen some lovely photos of my grandchildren enjoying being together for the first time in three years and they all loved exploring in Tasmania – a gorgeous place, if somewhat cold in the winter months.
    In a few days I expect a visit from my friend from Vancouver – the one who put me on the train to Williams Lake when I came to visit in 1994. It’s great to have visits from two Canadian friends (+ a new one in Robin) in one year!
    Wishing you a safe arrival and not too much mail to plough through. With love Jenni

Leave a Reply

