Storytelling in Adelaide

Cathryn sharing a tale at the Adelaide Storytelling Guild gathering in March 2009.
Cathryn sharing a tale at the Adelaide Storytelling Guild gathering in March 2009.

There are no doubt wonderful storytellers in Melbourne, but my e-mails to those I found online went unanswered. So I was delighted when one of the Adelaide Storytelling Guild members offered a warm welcome even before we arrived here.

Isabel Piercy is a member of David Jarman’s Probus Club. He has asked her to do some storytelling in historic dress as part of the Marion Historic Village project. When she learned David’s twin was coming to Adelaide with his storytelling partner, she wanted to meet me.

Gaynor brought along the hats she'd made for all her family members, each a reflection of something special about that person. I suspect she didn't think she was telling stories, but she was.
Gaynor brought along the hats she'd made for all her family members, each a reflection of something special about that person. I suspect she didn't think she was telling stories, but she was.

So shortly after we arrived, I gave Isabel a call. She planned a spontaneous gathering and invited the four of us (Robin & David, Jeannette & me) to be special guests. Storytelling Guild members came bearing delicious food. We ate and talked and then told stories. I jumped at the chance to tell “Letters from Frank”. I’ve been telling that story since I met the characters who inspired it. That was back in my Seattle days. Every time I tell the story it’s like having a visit with loved friends.

In March the Guild gathered again, at the home of Josephine and Mick. They are a delightful couple whose suburban property boasts fruit trees, grape vines, vegetables and herbs, and a flock of happy chooks (aka chickens).

Robin and I joined the group for more good food, more good conversations, and more good stories. I haven’t been in a community with a storytelling guild since leaving Seattle in 1990. To be with people who love to tell and listen to stories felt like coming home.

It was Graeme's 50th birthday, and the Storytelling Guild helped him celebrate.
It was Graeme's 50th birthday, and the Storytelling Guild helped him celebrate.

I think that’s true of anything for which we have a passion. Wherever we are in the world, when we meet others who share our deep interest, we feel a sense of homecoming.

So as we prepare to leave Adelaide, I will take with me the memory of time spent in Adelaide and Perth, where stories gave me a common thread with people we’d just met.

4 thoughts on “Storytelling in Adelaide

  1. Hali

    Hello my dear friend,

    OK now you have stirred up those hidden, wonderful memories located in the back hemisphere of my brain; of this great story “Letters from Frank”; for it took me back to the night I watched you Cathryn tell this story at Mosaic Book Store in downtown Kelowna. Everyone should have a “Frank” in their life. How special he was. I can hardly wait for your return so that I can hear more and more stories of your adventures in Australia that you never had the time to present on this blog and of course I am interested in your journey with Robin.
    Love always,
    hali
    xoxoxo

  2. Isabel

    Hello Cathryn,

    It was lovely to read about how much you enjoyed your Australian journeys, especially the storytelling and I’m here to tell you we story tellers enjoyed you and your stories immensely.
    We look forward to seeing you and Robin again in the near future. No pressure of course, well not much anyway, well maybe just a little….

    I will pass on your web address to the other members of the Guild and with your permission, maybe we could publish your comments in our news letter for those who don’t have accsess to a computer.

    Love and best wishes to you and Robin.

    Isabel

    1. cathrynwellner

      What a wonderful note from you, Isabel. Yes, of course, by all means give the Web address to other Guild members and publish any comments in the newsletter. The time spent with Adelaide storytellers is a shining memory for me – and one I hope to repeat soon.

      A big hug to you all

      Cathryn

  3. Michelle

    Glad that Adelaide made up for where Melbourne failed you in something you love so much. Sure throws a spanner in the works for any decision making!!!

Leave a Reply

