Opera in the food court

The Opera Company of Philadelphia is at it again. On January 8, 2011, they performed another “Random Act of Culture”. This time they burst into the familiar “Toreador” from Bizet’s Carmen while shoppers at the Reading Terminal Market bought burgers and fries.

Aside from the smart marketing, OCP is spreading delight. Faces light up. A grandmother dances with her grandson. Cameras snap. Eyes glow. And maybe even a few avowedly non-opera fans like me will buy tickets to see the whole production. I’d probably be one of those in the audience pointed excitedly at the stage saying, “I saw him at the market!”

4 thoughts on “Opera in the food court

  1. Michelle

    I couldn’t help but clap my hands when guy in the tracksuit put down his phone and burst into song – the most unlikely looking character. I love when my judgements are shamed!!

Leave a Reply

